Audio Voting Information for the Blind

The California Braille and Talking Book Library (BTBL)

We have adapted the Secretary of State’s “California Voter Information Guide for the General Election, November 8, 2016” into an 8 hour digital talking book for use with our Digital Talking Book Machine or third party device that plays NLS books.
This adapted voter guide can be downloaded directly from our web site Unzip the downloaded file to a thumb drive or blank flash memory cartridge for playback on the DTBM.
If you would like to borrow this voter guide on cartridge, please contact your reader advisor at (800) 952-5666 and we will mail you a cartridge in a container with a return mailing card just as we loan books.
Other formats:
The audio version of the voter guide is available online to stream or download in the form of 151 separate MP3 files from the Secretary of State’s website at:
We are also posting the voter guide in synthetic speech to our local channel on Newsline (Telephonic Reader Program), available through the National Federation of the Blind. Californians with print disabilities can find out more about and apply for a free Newsline account at or by contacting their local NLS network library.
The Secretary of State’s Election Office will provide, upon request to constituents who need it, cassette or CD hardcopies of the voter guide. If you would prefer a large print, cassette or CD version of the voter guide, you may submit an online form on the SOS web site at . You may also contact the Secretary of State’s election office directly at: (916) 695-1579 or via Email at  to request one of these alternate formats.
And in case you were wondering, the Secretary of State does not provide a braille version of the voter guide. BTBL is researching whether we might be able to provide an electronic braille version some day in the future.
Local Voter Information:
This 2016 Voter Information Guide contains information about statewide referenda and candidates only. Local voter information should be available through your local county election offices at: