The League of Women Voters of Berkeley/Albany/Emeryville, a nonpartisan political organization, encourages the informed and active participation of citizens in government, works to increase understanding of major public policy issues, and influences public policy through education and advocacy.

We have been doing this since 1911, when women got the vote in California.

Your contributions to the League of Women Voters of Berkeley/Albany/Emeryville make possible the following activities and services in our three communities for the coming League year.

Voter Education

"Easy Voter Guide"

"Pros & Cons" on ballot measures

Candidate Forums

Ranked Choice Voting (RCV)

Smart Voter – www.smartvoter.org

"Who Represents Berkeley/Albany/Emeryville?"

Advocacy

Health Care • Civics Education Climate Change Action Redistricting Open Government



The League of Women Voters Berkeley • Albany • Emeryville

1414 University Ave., Suite D ● Berkeley, CA 94702 Phone: (510) 843-8824 ● Fax: (510) 843-8828 E-mail: office@lwvbae.org Website: lwvbae.org

The League of Women Voters of Berkeley / Albany / Emeryville 2011 Community Luncheon

HONORARY COMMITTEE

To celebrate our 100th anniversary we honor our League Presidents, from Miss Blanche Morse in 1911 to Sherry Smith in 2011. Through their concern for democratic process, civic involvement, and diligence, they have steadfastly guided our League for the past 100 years.

CALIFORNIA CIVIC LEAGUE, BERKELEY FORUM

1911	Miss Blanche Morse
1912	Mrs. J. B. Hurse
1913-15	Mrs. W. R. Coolidge
1916	Mrs. A. C. Moody
1917	Mrs. E. F. Rowell
1918	Mrs. Henry Hatfield
1919-20	Mrs. Ida M. Blachman
1921	Mrs. H. N. Herrick

Mrs. S. A. Abrahams

Mrs. Alice Hevnemann

Mrs. L. A. Doyle

Mrs. A. J. Shirpser Mrs. Ruth Kingman

Mrs. Irene Prescott

Mrs. Harriet Nathan

Mrs. L. A. MacKay Mrs. Margaret Dumas

Mrs. Victor Ferkiss

Mrs. Emir Gaw

1945

1946

1947

1948

1949

1954

1950-51

1952-53

1955-56

1957-58

1959-60

LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF BERKELEY

1911-2011

1921	Mrs. H. N. Herrick	1959-60	Mrs. Hobart C. Knapp
		1961-62	Dorothy Spitzer
LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF BERKELEY		1963-64	Ruth Rosenfeld
1922–23	Mrs. H. N. Herrick	1965–66	Ora Huth
1924–25	Mrs. F. G. Athearn	1967	Jane Vinson
1924–23	Mrs. Seth Tracy	1968	Bea Frankel-Conrat
1928–29	•	1969	Sally Severance
	Mrs. George Legg	1970–72	Wilma Jordan
1930–31	Mrs. Walter S. Brown	1972–74	Gilda Feller
1932	Miss Clara B. Sikes	1974–76	Marilyn Couch
1933	Mrs. Frank E. Hinkley	1976-78	Jane Bergen
1934–35	Mrs. F. S. Bissell	1978-80	Eloise Bodine
1936	Mrs. C. C. Conrad	1980-82	Ann Crowe
1937	Mrs. Bradley Brown	1982-84	Frances Packard
1938	Mrs. Harold Nachtrieb	1984-87	Jane Coulter
1939–40	Mrs. Hubert Sander	1987-89	Patricia Kuhi
1941	Mrs. Ruth Scheer	1989-91	Patricia Wadleigh
1942	Mrs. W. W. Douglas	1991-93	Phyllis Clement
1943	Mrs. George Cunningham	1993-94	Miriam Hawley
1944	Mrs. Douglas Carter		•

LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS OF BERKELEY, ALBANY AND EMERYVILLE

Miriam Hawley
Anne Henderson
Doris R. Fine
Jo Ann B. Price
Nancy K. Bickel
Sherry Smith
Jinky Gardner
Sherry Smith

THE LEAGUE OF WOMEN VOTERS

of Berkeley / Albany / Emeryville cordially invites you to attend our

2011 COMMUNITY LUNCHEON CELEBRATING OUR LEAGUE'S 100TH BIRTHDAY!

Thursday, August 18, 2011 H^s Lordships, Berkeley Marina

11:30 a.m. Meet & Greet 12:00–1:30 p.m. Luncheon and Program

DISTINGUISHED SPEAKER

Christina Romer

Professor of Economics, University of California, Berkeley Chair, President's Council of Economic Advisers, 2009–2010

"The Challenges of Economic Policymaking:
A View from the Inside"

"SPIRIT OF THE LEAGUE" AWARDS

Fran Packard

Past President, LWV of California and LWVBAE
For four decades of leadership to the League of Women Voters

Berkeley Community Fund

For its support of our community's most deserving students

Books Inc. will provide books related to our speaker's topic and will share the proceeds with LWVBAE

PLEASE REPLY BY AUGUST 6, 2011